Skip to main content

Allied Health Programs: Nursing

This library guide provides information about the LRC resources (print and electronic) that are available to all Rend Lake College staff and students, most especially those enrolled in the Allied Health programs.

Info about guide

The licensed electronic resources in this guide can only be accessed by current Rend Lake College students and staff using the same login credentials as Blackboard, Warriormail, and Online Student Records.  If you do not have your login information please call ext. 1259, IT Help Desk to obtain that information.

Film & Streaming Videos

These resources can be found on the A to Z Resource List:  https://www.rlc.edu/learning-resource-center/electronic-library/a-z-electronic-resources. 

Streaming video of over 15,000 film titles covering a wide variety of subjects. Films can be viewed in their entirety or by segment and can also be embedded into presentations.

 

             Alexander Street Press videos

  • Health and Society in Video
  • Nursing Assistant Education in Video
  • Nursing Education in Video
  • Psychological Experiments Online
  • Rehabilitation Therapy in Video           

The RLC film collection can be found by searching the I'll Share It (RLC Catalog).

Books

RLC is a member of the Illinois Heartland Library System's SHARE network, providing access to the I'll Share It catalogs of over 500 member libraries. As a current RLC student or staff member, you are able to borrow from any of the member libraries through interlibrary loan. In order to have access to this service, you will need to set up a RLC library account.  For help with this call ext. 1308, 1249, or 1276.

Search catalog for:
Search by:

eBooks

Credo Logo

You can find these resources on the A to Z Electronic Resources list - https://www.rlc.edu/learning-resource-center/electronic-library/a-z-electronic-resources.

 

Finding Journals/Magazines

Journal Finder is a service that allows the user to find journals by title and subject or articles in the electronic resources within the A to Z Resource List. The list can be accessed by clicking this link:  https://rlc.edu/learning-resource-center/electronic-library/a-z-electronic-resources.


Databases found in the A to Z Resources list:

Although databases provide more scholarly information than using the Internet, this guide provides information on both. The databases listed below can be found on the A to Z Electronic Resources under magazines/journals.

  • AHFS Consumer Medication Information - Provides consumer medicine information.
  • CINAHL with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals providing more than 600,000 full-text articles dating back to 1982.
  • Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals about medical topics.
  • Health Source - Consumer Edition provides information on many health topics for consumers.  
  • Health Reference Center Academic supports research in health studies. (use Gale Access)
  • Health & Wellness Resource Center provides information about diseases, drugs, tests, and therapies.(use Gale Access)

National Library of Medicine databases:

Profile

Beth Mandrell's picture
Beth Mandrell
Contact:
618.437.5321 x1276
Website

Ask a Question

Got a question?  Fill out the form, give us a call, or visit us in the library.

  1. Fill out this form to send a request: Information Request Form
  2. Call 618-437-5321, ext. 1276 and talk to the librarian or visit the librarian's office at LRC 116.
  3. Visit us in the LRC and ask for information at the Circulation Desk (ext. 1308).468 N. Ken Gray Pkwy, Ina, IL  62846

Creating Citations

Plagiarism Statement

When using print or electronic sources within research papers, it is important to avoid plagiarism by giving the author/creator of those resources credit for their work. Citing sources on a works cited or reference page will allow you to do this. WHEN USING ANY INFORMATION OTHER THAN YOUR ORIGINAL THOUGHTS OR IDEAS IN YOUR WORK YOU WILL NEED TO CREATE A CITATION!  Please see page 24-25 RLC Student Rights & Responsibilities.

  You may find the following resources helpful when creating citations: