Skip to main content

Liberal Arts: English

This guide contains information and links that can be useful for research in the Liberal Arts programs.

Info about the guide

All licensed electronic resources can be access only by current Rend Lake College students and staff by using the same login used for BB, Warriormail and Online Student Records. For your login information, please call ext. 1259, IT Help Desk.

Plagiarism

Plagiarism Statement

When using print or electronic sources within research papers, it is important to avoid plagiarism by giving the author/creator of those resources credit for their work. Citing sources on a works cited or reference page will allow you to do this. WHEN USING ANY INFORMATION OTHER THAN YOUR ORIGINAL THOUGHTS OR IDEAS IN YOUR WORK YOU WILL NEED TO CREATE A CITATION!  Please see page 24-25 RLC Student Rights & Responsibilities.

  You may find the following resources helpful when creating citations:

Finding articles

While we can find a lot of information by using a search engine like Google, it is sometimes hard to decide if the information is good enough to use in our writing.  Using the databases listed below will help you locate reliable, scholarly information which has been reviewed by a professional.

Find books

RLC is a member of the Illinois Heartland Library System's SHARE network, providing access to the I'll Share It catalogs of over 500 member libraries. As a current RLC student or staff member, you are able to borrow from any of the member libraries through interlibrary loan. In order to have access to this service, you will need to set up a RLC library account.  For help with this call ext. 1308, 1249, or 1276.

                                      Search catalog for:
Search by:

eBooks

This database provides access to a vast, online reference library (over 600) through dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations, and atlases covering many subject areas.  Use the search box below.

  

This database contains full-text electronic books that users may read online or download and print portions of the e-books.

Click this link for Other Ebooks that RLC has access to.

 Cloud Library have more than 30,000 downloadable books to use on your ereaders.  Check them out on the Electronic Library page under Research Books. For additional help call ext. 1249.

Ask a Question

Got a question?  Fill out the form, give us a call, or visit us in the library.

  1. Fill out this form to send a request: Information Request Form
  2. Call 618-437-5321, ext. 1276 and talk to a librarian.
  3. Visit us in the LRC and ask for information at the Circulation Desk (ext. 1308).

Grammar/Punctuation/Spelling

Use this link to check for grammar errors in your writing.